Core fields

Accounting and Auditing (BWL 1)

Business processes that take place within the enterprise or those that are linked to its environment are specified, quantitatively mapped and analysed by accounting. For this purpose, companies create specific calculation values like balance sheets, income statements and cash flow statements (financial accounting) for communication with the outside world and controlling tools (management accounting) for the direction of the company. External auditing is aimed at the correctness of annual financial statements. Internal auditing and internal control focus in addition on ensuring that all company activities are effective, secure and efficient. Promoting and demanding a sound understanding of accounting and finance for all company stakeholders (training and advanced training) as well as acquiring problem-orientated knowledge concerning the structure and the fundamental connections of the subject area (research) are the principal tasks of the core area of accounting and auditing at the University of Zurich (UZH).

Prof. Dr. Hui Chen Financial Accounting
Prof. Dr. Reto Eberle Auditing and Internal Control
Prof. Dr. Robert F. Göx Managerial Accounting
Prof. Dr. Conrad Meyer Accounting
Prof. Dr. David Oesch Financial Accounting
Prof. Dr. Dieter Pfaff Accounting
Prof. Dr. Francesco Reggiani Financial Accounting

Corporate Finance and Banking (BWL 2)

The core area of corporate finance and banking deals on the one hand with corporate finance, and investment management grapples with questions of the optimal capital structure of a company, the methods of company and stock valuation and the analysis of investment decisions, among other things. On the other hand, it also includes the business administration of banks. In the process, subjects such as financial intermediation, asset management and aspects of financial market regulation are dealt with. Besides the investigation and communication of scientific methods, the emphasis is on the use of concepts and instruments with a practical orientation also. In combination with the other core fields of the Institute for Business Administration (IBW), the area of corporate financing and banking is an important enhancement of the training of young researchers.

For more information see the webpage from the Department of Banking and Finance.

Organization and Human Resources (BWL 3)

The core area of organisation and human resources deals with how human resource management and organisational structures and processes contribute to the success of companies. The connections between company structures, cultures and strategies and human resource management on the one hand and between institutions and individual motivations and qualifications on the other hand are central themes in this context. This core area analyses company decisions with respect to staff and education and examines the practice and the theories of personnel and organizational and management strategies and processes. In addition, empirical methods for the investigation of management, personnel and organizational processes are an important component of the range of courses offered.

Prof. Dr. Uschi Backes-Gellner Empirical Research in Business, Industrial Relations
and Human Resource Management
Prof. Dr. Agnes Bäker Management Nonprofit Organisation
Prof. David Seidl, PhD Organization and Management
Prof. Dr. Carmit Segal Managerial Economics
Prof. Dr. Bruno Staffelbach Human Resource Management

Marketing (BWL 4)

Within the core area of marketing, there is a common theme and that is research and education on current issues of consumer and company behaviour and their interaction. Research projects work on a broad spectrum of defined problems in connection with activities, institutions and processes, which such offers create, communicate, deliver and exchange and, which are important for customers, clients, partners and society. In this core area, quantitatively empirical and analytical market research is carried out and both methodical and theoretical contributions are made to the analysis of brand management, relationship marketing, internet marketing and the social networks. In the process, close contact is maintained with companies from various sectors. Research is done on market phenomena in cooperation with industry partners and implications that are of great practical relevance for marketing and management are formulated.

Prof. Dr. René Algesheimer Marketing and Market Research
Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Wehrli Marketing
Prof. Dr. Selin Akca Marketing Management
Prof. Dr. Martin Natter Marketing
Prof. Dr. Claudio Tessone Network Science

Business Policy and Governance (BWL 5)

The core area of business policy and governance uses quantitative and qualitative research methods and concerns itself with subject areas such as market and competitive analysis and the limits of companies, strategic market positioning as well as market entry and exit strategies, corporate social responsibility, and company organization in globalised markets. Researchers in this core area contribute to the growth of knowledge through both empirical and analytical studies and incorporate theories from associated disciplines such as economics, political science, psychology and sociology.

Prof. Dr. Egon Franck Strategic Management and Business Policy
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kaiser Entrepreneurship
Prof. Thomas Keil,
D. Sc. (techn.)
International Management
Prof. William McKinley, PhD Management
Prof. Dr. Andreas Georg Scherer Foundations of Business Administration and Theories of the Firm
Prof. Dr. Anja Schulze Technology and Innovation Management

Management Science (BWL 6)

The core area of management science identifies analyses and solves management problems with the help of scientific methods stemming from the business sciences, mathematics, psychology, sociology and statistics. In the process, theoretical and empirical research is carried out. The interest in management subjects extends to all forms of organization: profit-orientated companies, institutions from the private and public sectors, cooperatives, social networks and other formal and informal forms of cooperation. Research is done on complex decision processes both from a normative and a descriptive perspective. Particular attention is devoted to the social consequences of business decisions and the social responsibility of companies. Besides the use of existing methods, new methods of solving difficult management problems are developed with the help of advanced processes stemming from optimization, simulation, computer and systems theory. It is an objective of the management science core area to essentially co-determine the development of the area of decision-orientated management science.

Prof. Dr. Christiane Barz Mathematics for Business and Economics
Prof. Dr. Helmut Dietl Services- and Operations Management
Prof. Dr. Karl Schmedders Quantitative Business Administration

Institut für Betriebswirtschaftslehre

Über uns
Studium
Forschung
Dienstleistung & Weiterbildung
UFSP Soziale Netzwerke
Professuren
Presse
Bibliotheken
jobs@business  

Neuste Publikationen

Women in Business Top 100

Top 100 Die erfolgreichsten Frauen der Schweiz

Women in Business, das Schweizer Wirtschaftsmagazin für die Frau, hat Prof. Dr. Uschi Backes-Gellner unter die Top 100 erfolgreichsten Frauen der Schweiz gewählt.

Kerngebiete

Accounting and Auditing (BWL 1)

Corporate Finance and Banking (BWL 2)

Organization and Human Resources (BWL 3)

Marketing (BWL 4)

Business Policy and Governance (BWL 5)

Management Science (BWL 6)

Accounting and Auditing (BWL 1)

Wirtschaftliche Vorgänge, die innerhalb der Unternehmung ablaufen oder diese mit ihrer Umwelt verbinden, werden im Accounting konkretisiert, quantitativ abgebildet sowie analysiert. Unternehmen erstellen dazu besondere Rechenwerke wie Bilanz, Erfolgsrechnung und Geldflussrechnung (Financial Accounting) für die Kommunikation nach aussen und Controlling-Werkzeuge (Managerial Accounting) zur Steuerung des Unternehmens. Wirtschaftsprüfung (External Auditing) ist auf die Ordnungsmässigkeit von Jahresabschlussinformationen ausgerichtet, interne Revision (Internal Auditing) und interne Kontrolle (Internal Control) zielen darüber hinaus auf die Gewährleistung von Effektivität, Sicherheit und Effizienz sämtlicher Unternehmensaktivitäten. Ein solides Rechnungswesen- und Finanzverständnis bei allen Stakeholdern von Unternehmen zu fordern und zu fördern (Aus- und Weiterbildung) sowie problemorientierte Erkenntnisse über die Struktur und die grundlegenden Zusammenhänge des Fachs zu gewinnen (Forschung), sind die vornehmlichen Aufgaben des Kerngebiets Accounting and Auditing an der Universität Zürich.

Prof. Dr. Hui Chen Financial Accounting
Prof. Dr. Reto Eberle Auditing and Internal Control
Prof. Dr. Robert F. Göx Managerial Accounting
Prof. Dr. Conrad Meyer Accounting
Prof. Dr. David Oesch Financial Accounting
Prof. Dr. Dieter Pfaff Accounting

Corporate Finance and Banking (BWL 2)

Das Kerngebiet Corporate Finance and Banking befasst sich einerseits mit der betrieblichen Finanz- und Investitionswirtschaft und setzt sich unter anderem mit Fragen der optimalen Kapitalstruktur eines Unternehmens, den Methoden der Unternehmens- und Aktienbewertung sowie der Analyse von Investitionsentscheidungen auseinander. Andererseits beinhaltet es auch die Betriebswirtschaftslehre der Banken. Dabei werden Themen wie die Finanzintermediation, das Asset Management sowie Aspekte der Finanzmarktregulierung behandelt. Im Mittelpunkt stehen neben der Erforschung und der Vermittlung von wissenschaftlichen Methoden auch die Anwendung praxisnaher Konzepte und Instrumente. In Kombination mit den weiteren Kerngebieten des IBW ist Corporate Finance and Banking eine wichtige Ergänzung in der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses.

Informationen hierzu finden Sie unter Institut für Banking und Finance.

top

Organization and Human Resources (BWL 3)

Das Kerngebiet Organization and Human Resources befasst sich damit, wie das Management der Humanressourcen und wie organisatorische Strukturen und Prozesse zum Erfolg von Unternehmen beitragen. Zentrale Themen sind dabei die Zusammenhänge zwischen Unternehmensstrukturen, -kulturen und -strategien und dem Management von Humanressourcen einerseits und zwischen Institutionen und individuellen Motivationen und Qualifikationen andererseits. Das Kerngebiet analysiert betriebliche Personal- und Bildungsentscheidungen und untersucht die Praxis und die Theorien zu Personal-, Organisations- und Führungsstrategien und -prozessen. Ausserdem sind empirische Methoden zur Untersuchung von Personal-, Führungs- und Organisationsprozessen ein wichtiger Bestandteil des Studienangebots.

Prof. Dr. Uschi Backes-Gellner Empirical Research in Business, Industrial Relations
and Human Resource Management
Prof. David Seidl, PhD Organization and Management
Prof. Dr. Bruno Staffelbach Human Resource Management

Marketing (BWL 4)

Innerhalb des Kerngebiets Marketing ist ein gemeinsames Thema die Forschung und Lehre aktueller Fragen des Konsumenten- und Firmenverhaltens und deren Wechselwirkung. Die Forschungsprojekte bearbeiten ein breites Spektrum an Problemstellungen im Zusammenhang mit Aktivitäten, Institutionen und Prozessen, welche solche Angebote schaffen, kommunizieren, liefern und austauschen, die für Kunden, Klienten, Partner und die Gesellschaft wichtig sind. Im Kerngebiet werden quantitativ empirische sowie analytische Marktforschung betrieben und methodische sowie theoretische Beiträge zur Analyse des Brand Management, Relationship Marketing, Internet Marketing und der sozialen Netzwerke geliefert. Dabei wird enger Kontakt zu Unternehmen aus verschiedenen Branchen gehalten. In Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern werden Marktphänomene erforscht und Implikationen von hoher praktischer Relevanz für Marketing und Management formuliert.

Prof. Dr. René Algesheimer Marketing and Market Research
Prof. Dr. Hans Peter Wehrli Marketing

Business Policy and Governance (BWL 5)

Das Kerngebiet Business Policy and Governance bedient sich quantitativer und qualitativer Forschungsmethoden und beschäftigt sich mit Themenbereichen wie z.B. Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalyse, Grenzen der Unternehmen, strategische Marktpositionierung von Unternehmen sowie Markteintritts- wie auch Marktaustrittsstrategien, Corporate Governance, Global Governance und Corporate Social Responsibility sowie Organisation von Unternehmen in globalisierten Märkten. Die Wissenschaftler des Kerngebiets tragen sowohl durch empirische wie auch durch analytische Studien zum Erkenntnisfortschritt bei und integrieren Theorien aus angrenzenden Disziplinen wie zum Beispiel Volkswirtschaftslehre, Politikwissenschaften, Psychologie und Soziologie.

Prof. Dr. Egon Franck Unternehmensführung und -politik
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kaiser Entrepreneurship
Prof. Thomas Keil,
D. Sc. (techn.)
International Management
Prof. William McKinley, PhD Management
Prof. Dr. Andreas Georg Scherer Foundations of Business Administration and Theories of the Firm
Prof. Dr. Anja Schulze Technology and Innovation Management

Management Science (BWL 6)

Das Kerngebiet Management Science identifiziert, analysiert und löst Managementprobleme mit Hilfe wissenschaftlicher Methoden aus den Wirtschaftswissenschaften, der Mathematik, der Psychologie, der Soziologie und der Statistik. Dabei wird theoretisch und empirisch geforscht. Das Interesse an Managementt themen erstreckt sich auf alle Organisationsformen: gewinnorientierte Unternehmen, Institutionen aus dem privaten und öffentlichen Sektor, Genossenschaften und soziale Netzwerke sowie andere formale und informale Kooperationsformen. Komplexe Entscheidungsprozesse werden sowohl aus normativer als auch aus deskriptiver Sicht erforscht. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt den gesellschaftlich en Konsequenzen betrieblicher Entscheidungen sowie der sozialen Verantwortung von Unternehmen. Neben der Anwendung bestehender Methoden werden mit Hilfe fortgeschrittener Verfahren aus der Optimierungs-, Simulations-, Computer- und Systemtheorie neue Methoden zur Lösung schwieriger Managementprobleme entwickelt. Ein Ziel innerhalb des Kerngebiets Management Science ist, die Entwicklung des Gebiets der entscheidungsorientierten Managementlehre wesentlich mitzubestimmen.

Prof. Dr. Helmut Dietl Services- und Operationsmanagement
Prof. Dr. Diethard Klatte Mathematik für Ökonomen
Prof. Dr. Andrea Schenker-Wicki Performance Management
Prof. Dr. Karl Schmedders Quantitative Betriebswirtschaftlehre