Managing Diversity (Teaching)

The daily work in modern companies requires managers with a multiplicity of skills. In addition to their expertise in business administration and their leadership skills, they also bring knowledge from other branches of science to the table, depending on the department. Satisfaction of these multifaceted requirements is the objective of a course in the business sciences at the University of Zurich (UZH). We call it: Managing Diversity. Studying at the Department of Business Administration (IBW) offers students the benefits of one of the largest full universities in Switzerland, which, according to the Shanghai ranking list is also one of the sixty best colleges or universities in the world.

The reason for the strength of the University of Zurich (UZH) is its institutes and their collaboration. In order to make this potential accessible to students of business administration in a very individual way, they have the opportunity to incorporate lectures in the Faculty of Business Sciences and neighbouring faculties as well as in the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) into their course of study. We also place great value on collaboration with partner universities at home and abroad and on cooperation with internationally recognized researchers and experts on management practices.

The course in business administration focuses on the broad-based curriculum. This trains the students in accounting and auditing (BWL 1), banking and corporate finance (BWL 2), organization and human resources (BWL 3), marketing (BWL 4), business policy and governance (BWL 5) as well as management science (BWL 6). This core area can be supplemented by associated disciplines depending on the individual interest. This area comprises related fields like economics, information technology or law but also unrelated subjects like psychology, theology or medicine. Above all, students in the Master’s programme can devise a wide-ranging study packet for themselves on the one hand, that will tend to qualify them for a “general management position" and thus for a multiplicity of the most diverse career paths. On the other hand, the multifaceted range of options can be used to put a focused course together and thus to earn a subject-specific Master’s degree that purposefully prepares you for one function.

In fact, just as managers with a multiplicity of skills are required, managing diversity at the University of Zurich (UZH) also goes beyond technical expertise. We want our students, as future managers, to broaden their cultural horizon and thus enhance their soft skills extensively. For this reason, we offer an increasing range of international university exchanges. Our contact with experts in the field enable students to apply the knowledge that they have acquired and thus, to experience business administration in real life.

Thus, managing diversity at the University of Zurich (UZH) means incorporating the comprehensive, professional and cultural offering into the teaching and research concept. In addition, we provide students with the possibility of obtaining initial and advanced training in accordance with their objectives and ideas and of making their way successfully.

Prof. Dr. Dieter Pfaff

For Further Information please visit the website of our Dean`s office.

Managing Diversity

Managing Diversity – ein vielseitiges Studium der BWL an der Universität Zürich

Die tägliche Arbeit in modernen Unternehmen fordert Manager in einer Vielzahl von Fähigkeiten. Neben ihrem betriebswirtschaftlichen Fachwissen und Führungsgeschick bringen sie je nach Abteilung auch Kenntnisse aus anderen Wissenschaften ein. Diesen mannigfaltigen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, ist das Ziel eines Studiums der Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Universität Zürich. Wir nennen es: Managing Diversity. Das Studium am Institut der Betriebswirtschaftslehre (IBW) bietet den Studierenden die Vorteile einer der grössten Volluniversitäten in der Schweiz und gemäss Shanghai Ranking einer der sechzig besten Hochschulen und Universitäten weltweit.

Die Stärke der Universität Zürich liegt in ihren Instituten und deren Zusammenarbeit begründet. Um dieses Potential den Studierenden der Betriebswirtschaft auf ganz individuelle Weise zugänglich zu machen, haben sie die Chance, Lehrveranstaltungen der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät (WWF), der Nachbarfakultäten sowie der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) in ihr Studium zu integrieren. Auch auf die Zusammenarbeit mit Partneruniversitäten im In-und Ausland sowie auf die Kooperation mit international anerkannten Wissenschaftlern und Experten aus der Managementpraxis legen wir grossen Wert.

Im Zentrum des Studiums der Betriebswirtschaftslehre steht das breit angelegte Curriculum. Dieses bildet die Studierenden in Accounting und Auditing (BWL 1), Banking und Corporate Finance (BWL 2), Organization und Human Resources (BWL 3), Marketing (BWL 4), Business Policy und Governance (BWL 5) sowie Management Science (BWL 6) aus. Dieser Kernbereich kann je nach individuellem Interesse durch angrenzende Studienrichtungen erweitert werden. Dazu gehören verwandte Gebiete wie Volkswirtschaftslehre, Informatik oder Rechtswissenschaften, aber auch entfernte Fächer wie Psychologie, Theologie oder Medizin. Vor allem Masterstudierende können sich einerseits ein breit ausgerichtetes Studienpaket schnüren, das eher für eine «general management position» und somit eine Vielzahl unterschiedlichster Karrierepfade qualifiziert. Andererseits lässt sich das vielfältige Angebot nutzen, um ein fokussiertes Programm zusammenzustellen und so einen fachspezifischen Master zu erwerben, der gezielt für eine Funktion vorbereitet.

Doch ebenso wie Manager in einer Vielzahl von Fähigkeiten gefordert sind, geht auch Managing Diversity an der Universität Zürich über das Fachwissen hinaus: Wir wollen, dass unsere Studierenden als zukünftige Manager ihren kulturellen Horizont und damit ihre Softskills umfassend erweitern. Aus diesem Grund bieten wir ein zunehmendes Angebot an internationalen Austauschuniversitäten an. Unsere Kontakte zu Experten aus der Praxis ermöglichen es den Studierenden, ihr erlerntes Wissen zur Anwendung zu bringen und so die Betriebswirtschaft in Realität zu erleben.

Managing Diversity an der Universität Zürich heisst also, das umfassende fachliche und kulturelle Angebot in das Lehr-und Forschungsverständnis mit einzubeziehen. Damit geben wir den Studierenden die Möglichkeit, sich entsprechend ihren Zielen und Vorstellungen aus-und weiterzubilden und erfolgreich ihren Weg zu beschreiten.

Prof. Dr. Dieter Pfaff

Allgemeine Informationen zu den verschiedenen Studiengängen finden Sie auch unter: http://www.oec.uzh.ch/studies.html